loading page

The Variation of Ionospheric O+ and H+ Outflow on Storm Timescales
  • +4
  • Niloufar Nowrouzi,
  • Lynn M. Kistler,
  • Kai Zhao,
  • Eric J Lund,
  • Christopher G. Mouikis,
  • Genevieve Payne,
  • Berndt Klecker
Niloufar Nowrouzi
Center for Space Physics Boston University

Corresponding Author:[email protected]

Author Profile
Lynn M. Kistler
University of New Hampshire
Author Profile
Kai Zhao
Nanjing University of Information Science and Technology
Author Profile
Eric J Lund
College Brook Scientific
Author Profile
Christopher G. Mouikis
University of New Hampshire
Author Profile
Genevieve Payne
Colorado Boulder
Author Profile
Berndt Klecker
Author Profile


Geomagnetic storms are primarily driven by stream interaction regions (SIRs) and coronal mass ejections (CMEs). Since SIR and CME storms have different solar wind and magnetic field characteristics, the magnetospheric response may vary accordingly. Using FAST/TEAMS data, we investigate the variation of ionospheric O+ and H+ outflow as a function of geomagnetic storm phase during SIR and CME magnetic storms. The effects of storm size and solar EUV flux, including solar cycle and seasonal effects, on storm time ionospheric outflow, are also investigated. The results show that for both CME and SIR storms, the O+ and H+ fluence peaks during the main phase, and then declines in the recovery phase. However, for CME storms, there is also significant increase during the initial phase. Because the outflow starts during the initial phase in CME storms, there is time for the O+ to reach the plasma sheet before the start of the main phase. Since plasma is convected into the ring current from the plasma sheet during the main phase, this may explain why more O+ is observed in the ring current during CME storms than during SIR storms. We also find that outflow fluence is higher for large storms than moderate storms and is higher during solar maximum than solar minimum.
27 Jul 2023Submitted to AGU Fall Meeting 2022
04 Aug 2023Published in AGU Fall Meeting 2022